
Underage drinking is dangerous. Alcohol kills more young people than cocaine, heroin and all other illegal drugs combined.* 
Not only is it physically harmful, it’s also against the law. Delaware takes underage drinking violations very seriously, and so 

should you—the penalties for violating underage drinking laws are severe.

Visit the Delaware Office of Highway Safety site. (click’s to www.ohs.delaware.gov)

* Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD): Myths About Alcohol for Teens

Laws & PenaltiesLaws & Penalties
Underage Drinking

Anyone under age 21 possessing, consuming or found 
having consumed alcohol

• Loss of license for 1 month or $100 fine if unlicensed

Using False ID
Anyone who misrepresents themselves, makes up a false 
statement or uses false identification to obtain alcohol

• $500 fine or 30 days in jail

Entering Bars or Package Stores Underage
Anyone under age 21 entering or remaining in a bar 

or liquor store
• $50 fine

Providing a Minor with Alcohol
Anyone who sells to, delivers to or purchases alcohol for 

anyone under age 21
• Up to $500 fine and 40 hours of community service

• Parents who host parties for minors may also be 
held liable in civil court

Underage Drinking Will Cost You.Underage Drinking Will Cost You.

Underage DUI—The Zero Tolerance LawUnderage DUI—The Zero Tolerance Law
Anyone under age 21 who operates any vehicle while consuming 

or having consumed any amount of alcohol may be arrested.

• For first offense, loss of license for two months, or $200 fine 
if unlicensed

• A minor under age 18 with a blood alcohol content over .08 loses
license until age 21

• A minor age 18–21 with blood alcohol content over .08 is treated 
like an adult and will lose his or her license for one year


